Innovative Surgical Technologies

Through earlier research undertaken by Professor Johnstone (UoA and RGU) and his team, they have identified several growth factors that have differential effects upon aspects of human meniscal fibrochondrocyte metabolism both in primary cell cultures and explants, resulting in considerably enhanced cellular proliferation, collagen and glycosaminoglycan synthesis. By combining their research findings with those of the Materials Research Centre, RGU, they plan to create novel drug delivery systems by modifying existing materials that are currently used to surgically repair injured menisci. The perceived advantage of this approach is that new surgical techniques will NOT need to be developed to obtain a significantly improved clinical success rate following meniscal repair, which instead will have been achieved through the controlled addition of specific growth factors. Through its relative simplicity, it is anticipated that this approach will facilitate the rapid inclusion of these ‘drug enhanced’ materials into the surgeons’ armamentarium and lead to the creation of similar solutions for repairing other tissues that have poor intrinsic healing potential e.g. articular cartilage, tendons and ligaments.

Magnetic resonance imaging (MRI)

Director
Andreas Melzer, UoD
A.Melzer@dundee.ac.uk

Deputy Directors
Radhakrishna Prabhu, UoD
r.prabhu@rgu.ac.uk

Ian Gibson, UoA
i.r.gibson@abdn.ac.uk

David Lurie, UoA
d.lurie@abdn.ac.uk

Fiona Gilbert, UoA
f.j.gilbert@abdn.ac.uk

Sandy Cochran, UoD
S.Cochran@dundee.ac.uk

Eric Abel, UoD
e.w.abel@dundee.ac.uk